Healthy Snacking Tips And Ideas

Healthy Snacking And Ideas

So I want to talk about healthy snacking.  Healthy snacking should be in between meals and right before bed.  I have 6 meals during the day.  Let me show you my eating schedule that I follow.

Eating Schedule 

  • Breakfast: Between 8AM and 9Am.  Sometimes 7:30 Am when I am in college.
  • Snack: 9:45 Am When I am in college or 10 45 AM.
  • Lunch: 11:30 AM or Noon
  • Snack: around 3 or 3:30 pm.
  • Dinner: 5pm or 6 pm depending if I have karate
  • Snack 9 pm or 9:30 pm depending if I had karate that night.  Right before bed so I am not hungry during the night.

A Story Of Bad Snacking

I get it people snack because they are hungry.  Some people snack because they are bored or they have an eating disorder.  Well I was talking to one of my relatives on the phone last night and I heard her chewing in the phone.  I asked my relative what she was eating.  She said that she was snacking.  I said to her she should stop snacking.  She said that she been walking everyday.  I am like that’s great news, however you are putting the calories back on that you just walked off.  She said you’re right thanks for telling me.  But she still kept eating.

She claims that she snacking healthy because she is eating Weight Watchers snack bars. I am pretty that Weight Watchers invented the snacks to only have one bar or bag and not the whole box.  This is not the only time my relative was caught snacking.   I saw her snacking on candy, nuts, Weight Watchers snacks and anything else she can get her hands on.  I am not sure if she has an eating disorder but she eats while she watches tv. Maybe because the TV show that she is watching is boring.  Maybe she doesn’t eat enough during her meals at Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.  I think she should follow my schedule.  What do you think?

Ideas For Healthy Snacks

  • Unsalted Rice Cakes with 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter
  • Apple or a pear with 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter
  • 1.5 oz of unsalted almonds.  Trader Joe’s has these individual packages of almonds called A Handful Of Almonds.  I weighed them and it turns out that they are exactly 1.5 oz of almonds in each bag.
  • Non Fat greek yogurt plain
  • Protein Drink

Recap

Just do not eat the whole container or package of each of these snacks in a sitting and you will be fine.  I love eating 6 meal during the day.  It keeps my energy build up so I can get stuff on my to do list checked off.  Make sure you stick with eating healthy snacks like rice cakes, apple or a pear and almonds.  Do not be like my relative who snacks while watching tv.  It is not a pretty site to look at.

Suggestions 

I suggest you measure out your snacks.  So if you want peanut butter get the 1 tablespoon out.  Do not eyeball it.  Bad idea.  People who eyeball measurements tend to not care about how much of a certain ingredient that they are taking into their body.  If you are concerned about you are eating enough or are eating too much.  I suggest using a free app calorie counter.  My favorite calorie counter is Myfitnesspal.  Myftinesspal

Last Few Words

I highly suggest keeping a record of your calorie intake.  I am struggling every day to keep track of my calories in Myfitnesspal.  It is not hard or time-consuming, I just need to get into a routine that is all.  I keep you posted on how that works out for me.  If you know anyone who struggles with snacking healthy, please share this post with them.  Tell them if they need any help please feel free to contact me.  I always get back to people and my friends, family.  I hope you find this post helpful.  Please reach out to me by email, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram.

Facebook:Supernerdfitness

Twitter:@supernerdfit

Instagram:supernerdfit

Leave a Reply

