How To Determine When To Take A Rest Day?

How To Determine When To Take A Rest Day?

When it comes to rest day’s I can’t stress it enough that it is important to take at least one rest day per week.  I like to take a rest day on the 7th day of the week.  However that’s not always the case.    Last week I participated in Shaun Week which was fun but it’s now Thursday June 22nd and still haven’t taken a day off yet from working out.  So I am taking two days off this week.

Why am I taking two days off ?  One reason is because I am traveling tomorrow to my family reunion.  Second reason is I still need to travel back from my family reunion on Sunday.  Third and final reason is because I have karate on Monday night which I want to be well rested for.  Shaun Week kicked my butt and I need a rest.  If you did Shaun Week I suggest you do the same if you did not take a day off yet.

Like I said before in another post of mine, having a rest day helps repair your muscles to build more muscles.  If you keep working out everyday you will never get the physique you are hoping for because you are not resting your muscles.  You are just tearing the same ones over and over again.  Sorry that I am repeating myself, but like I said at the beginning of this post I can’t stress it enough.

When should you take a day off from working out?  Decide which day that you want to dedicate a day from not working out.  Perhaps maybe Sunday?   Sunday is considered the day of rest anyway right?  I let you decide though.  Another great way to tell when you need a rest day is when your brain starts telling you that it needs a rest day.  I know mine is.

But if you are anything like me who did Shaun Week and still did not get a day off from working out and goes to karate two to three times a week, than you deserve two days off. But that’s only if you are anything like me.  If you are not like me who can workout without a rest day once in awhile, than you only get one rest day.  Sorry rules are rules.

I hope you find this post helpful to you when to determine rest days.  Please feel free to share it with everyone you know!!

Leave a Reply

